Languages of Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is a multilingual country. The Burkinabè government officially recognizes 70 indegenous languages spoken in the country, with only three (Mooré, Dioula, and Fulfulde) recognized as national languages. The country's name was taken from words in Mooré and Dioula, with ‘Burkina’ meaning ‘man of integrity’ in Mooré and ‘Faso’ meaning ‘homeland’ in Dioula. Burkina Faso thus means “The land of upright men.” The demonym Burkinabè for a person from Burkina Faso borrows the suffix “bè”, meaning person, from the Fulfulde language.

Read →